jump to navigation

The day I blogged… June 23, 2007

Posted by prasadhms in Bottles, Pickles.
2 comments

My emotions towards people who were active on blogs came from a very simple set of choices…the choices being…these folks were either super savvy to own a blog and also maintain it or these folks simply had loads of time in hand. While that might sound a little snooty, let me confess the reason why I never had a blog or contributed to blogs was the human urge to keep out of your own assessment grids. I’ve designed over a dozen websites and built an equal number of web-based software systems for the sin of being a webbie for a great part of the last decade (geez! I sound historic!), blogs always kept me puzzled and the closest I came to it was when a grey-beard senior of mine introduced me to the technology behind Wiki and Moodle. Well if not for that, I would have lived the rest of my days fantasizing about Wiki as a girl in school and thought of Moodle as a brand Chinese instant noodle. Now that I’ve gotten over the writer’s block at the cost of your attention…let me get started with what Pickles and Bottles have to do with my life. While I owe my ‘bloginspiration’ to my good old friend Bala the inspiration behind the name is a pseudo-management book written by Sanjeev Jha called “When my Priest’s Prostitute met a Pickleseller”. An interesting book that connects strange and obviously mutually-exclusive counterparts (that’s the best oxymoron I’ve used in a long time now!) and talks about how a disillusioned burnt-out professional, Ravi, rediscovers the secret to sell and succeed like in love and enjoying the fruits of work. While that is a simple knot for a book, the interesting part comes from the people Ravi picks his lessons from…namely the 3 people that the Book’s title mentions. I was looking for a concept that will keep me coming back to the blog to keep it active and found the idea of writing about unconnected day to day events in life and try and connect them up…basically an attempt to pack the pickles into bottles. Wish me goodluck while I wish the same to you to keep visiting my page!

Will pickle again!